Our Staff and Leaders

Reverend Dr. Laurey Hartwell Harrell,

A native of Mobile, Alabama, Laurey is a graduate of Auburn University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Special Education. She holds a Master of Divinity Degree from Columbia Theological Seminary and a Doctor of Ministry Degree from McCormick Theological Seminary in Chicago. Laurey has served several churches in South Carolina and Alabama and has been pastor of a church in Houston since 2006. Her son and his family reside in Greenville, South Carolina and her daughter and her family reside in Hickory, North Carolina.

After college, while teaching emotionally distressed children, Laurey was recruited to lead the Junior High youth group at her home church. That led her to a call into ordained ministry, where she has been an educator and a pastor for over 30 years. She has served as a leader a youth conference at Mo-Ranch in Texas, at an adult conference in Montreat in North Carolina, and as moderator of the local Presbytery in Houston.

Laurey states, “The words, ‘Remember who you are and whose you are…’, have permeated my ministry and indeed my whole life. Whether it be in singing with children for chapel or directing a youth conference at Mo Ranch, from leading older adults at Montreat to planning worship for all ages in a congregation, my calling has been to share the love of God in Jesus Christ and how we are called to be that love in the world.” Her statement of faith concludes, “I believe that God calls all to be God’s children, to respond to God’s grace with faith, to come together in community as the body of Christ, to celebrate being many in our diversity but one in Christ, to be the priesthood of all believers serving in compassion, witnessing in truth, and living in joy.”

Elizabeth E. Nix, Director of Christian Education

Elizabeth Eason Nix grew up in Summerville South Carolina, where she attended Summerville Presbyterian Church. She recently completed her Master of Divinity at Union Presbyterian Church in Richmond, Virginia. Prior to attending Union, Elizabeth completed a double major in Religion and Christian Education at Presbyterian College. She has interned at churches in South Carolina and Virginia.

In October 2016, Elizabeth married Tom Nix. They have an energetic, friendly dog named Tove (the Hebrew word for good) who enjoys running and playing tug of war. Elizabeth enjoys spending time with friends and family, traveling, swimming, and singing loudly to the car radio. She believes God has brought her to John’s Island and is excited to begin serving our congregation.  E-mail: enix@jipc.org

Elaine Earl, Church Administrator

Elaine joined the staff of Johns Island Presbyterian Church in February of 2008 with outstanding organizational skills and a life-long love of learning. Her responsibilities include managing the day-to-day operations of the business side of the church. Elaine is a “people person” with over 30 years of customer service, having worked with the public since high school. She has one son, Andrew, who will begin his college studies in the fall of 2017.  E-mail: eearl@jipc.org

Sarah Shayban – Director of Music

Sarah began studying music at age five and continued her piano studies at Charleston County School of the Arts and the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities, where she studied with Drs. Sasha Starcevich and James Lent. Sarah attended the College of Charleston, where she studied piano with Enrique Graf, organ with Dr. Bill Gudger, and composition with Dr. David Maves. Sarah joined the staff at Johns Island Presbyterian Church in August of 2009. In addition to playing both the organ and the piano, Sarah also enjoys teaching and working with children. She leads the After School Arts Program at the church, directs the adult and children’s choirs, as well as the festival choir, a unique ensemble which performs on special occasions throughout the year.  E-mail: ssmith@jipc.org

Treasurer: Debbie Melson
Assistant Treasurer: Ruby Jenkins
Nursery: Marya Smith, Kathleen Guarino, and TreAna Saunders
Custodian: Annette Pye

Church Session

Clerk of Session:  Charlie Larsen
Christian Education:  Melissa Graves and Ron Schildge
Congregational Care: Johnsie Mason and Kay Hudson
Generosity:  John Feldman and Raymond Lightfoot
Mission and Outreach: Beth Dolby and Debora Rowland
Operations: Wally Meggs and Deb Nerhood
Worship:  Jacob Henley and Betsy Quinn
Personnel Committee:  Wally Meggs, John Feldman, Sally Cuskley, and Pete Hubbard

Other Positions

Endowment Fund: Charles Larsen
Flower Chairperson: Patty Anderson
Prayer Team Coordinator: Judy Meggs
Wedding Coordinator:  Betsy Quinn